New here? Sign Up Have an account?

C. Flowerday, Writer

Darkness in the morning / Shadows on the land. / Certain individuals / Aren't sticking with the plan.

And I'm searching for a heart / Searching everyone. / They say love conquers all. / You can't start it like a car. / You can't stop it with a gun. ...

They tell me love requires a little standing in line. / And I've been waiting for you, lover, for a long, long time. / I've been pacing the floor. / I've been watching the door. / Meanwhile I'll keep searching for a heart.
-- Warren Zevon, "Searching for a Heart"

I value art, humor and above all, emotional awareness/literacy (sensitivity, in other words), and social justice. This just means a fighting chance for everyone. I value nature and would like to think, for the children, and their children, we might leave behind a planet worth having.

My values were molded in the late '60s and '70s, but I had a pretty traditional growing up. I've tried to live out of those more non-traditional values in what I did for a living but this process took most of a career, coming together in the rediscovery of anthropology.

I am the proud father of a 30-year-old director of a private child welfare organization who's in a long-term relationship with a state senator. He is my pride and joy. My ex and I have worked hard to raise a stable child in the midst of a contentious relationship and a divorce that has grown less so over time, one that has resulted in better co-parenting than we ever did as a married couple. `

The story of my professions and passions in life is one of twists and turns but with some consistent themes, and then, of things coming together.

After a bachelor's in English (1977) from Princeton (N.J.) University, with a minor in psych, I did some counseling of inmates and ex-offenders and then with behavior disordered adolescents. I then attended Union Theological Seminary in New York City, the theological counterpart to Columbia Univ., to study for the Presbyterian ministry. It has been an incubator of religious social action going way back and has a very good program in psych and religion. It was a liberal, scholarly place and a great experience.

But ministry was not going to work for various reasons, so I got a degree in journalism from the University of Nebraska in the city where I grew up and worked in environmental journalism for 23 years. A job cut sent me back to school to get a couple of master's degrees, in journalism and anthropology (no doctorate in either here). During that time, I also got busy and wrote four books. Just a mildly freaked out, proactive boy.

Because I needed some leverage on redirecting my life, I took early retirement at 61, early Social Security at 62, in Oct. 2016, when I also got half-time mentoring in the schools in writing. Inspiring genius-level 10- and -11-year-olds to write well was fun, but I've trained my whole life to solve adult problems and need to make more money. The next step is training in mediation. Mediators go in where lawyers would otherwise go and facilitate settlements.

My son's success and well-being are most important to me, as well as the welfare and happiness of my extended family. Financial security, not necessarily financial dominance, makes me feel content. I'm a serious sports fan, sometime nut where certain teams are concerned.

My major commitments, within and outside of my work, are to helping defend and inspire the most vulnerable and helping teach and direct those with the greatest gifts to do the greatest good. Those are my passions.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageEnglish
BuildAverage
Height5' 10" (178 cm)
Eye ColorHazel
Hair ColorBlack
Hair LengthNeck length
Facial HairBeard
Best featureEyes
Body ArtNone
My AttractivenessAttractive

Situation

Relationship StatusDivorced
Has childrenOne
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateMaybe
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Masters
SpecialtyArt / Music / Literature
Employment StatusRetired
Job TitleEditor-Communications Specialist

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Documentaries, Dramas, Situation comedies, Movies, Sports, Re-runs
Favorite TV showsRight now, given the political situation, I bounce back and forth between CNN and MSNBC, mostly for directions and stories to pursue in print. I enjoy layovers at ESPN for relief from the onslaught on this insanity. Previously, I ate up the best sitcoms l
Favorite movies typesAction, Comedy, Romance, Drama, Documentary, Family, Thriller
Favorite moviesButch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid; MASH; Catch-22; Serpico; Woodstock; Men in Black I; Multiplicity; Lancelot of the Lake (French, Bresson); Two or Three Things I Know About Her, Everyman for Himself; Breathless (French, Godard); Blow-Up, The Adventure
Music typesRock, Blues, Jazz, Soul, Reggae, Folk
Favorite artistsThe Grateful Dead, The Band, Jimi Hendrix, Jefferson Airplane, Dylan, Laura Nyro, Janis Joplin, Maria Muldaur, Zachary Richard; Leo Kotke,, Leonard Cohen, The Temptations, Bob Marley, Eric Clapton, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Sly and the Family Stone, M
Reading selectionNews, Ancient, Auto-biography, Biography, Fiction, History, Music, Mystery, Nature, Philosophy, Poetry, Religious, Science, Sports, I'm an author
Favorite books100 Years of Solitude, Marquez; Absalom! Absalom! As I Lay Dying, The Sound and the Fury, The Reivers, Light in August, Faulkner; Hopscotch, Cortazar; Dreamtigers, The Book of Imaginary Beings, Borges; the novels of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler, Joh
Idea of funTalking over drinks, a meal or coffee about serious matters but especially over light-hearted matters, cracking each other up, sharing about the shallow and the deep, the absurd and the endearing; concerts, plays, modern dance; hiking, biking, camping, day trips, funky dives and fine dining, sporting events, political events, lectures and performance art, time with family and friends.
HobbiesExercising, Arts & Crafts, Sports, Reading, Learning, Music, TV, Movies, Internet, Dining, Photography, Religion, spirituality, Theater, Volunteering

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Friends describe asFriendly
Sense of humorGoofy
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, The movies, Relaxing, Sleeping, Reading a book, TV, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryI've done most of the physical things I wanted to do. I've done many of the intellectual/professional things I wanted to do. But I always wanted to try writing a play. I always wanted to get to the south of France and the Caribbean. Return to Colombia.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionUnitarian Universalist
Attend religious servicesOnce a month
Goal in lifeTo get some book manuscripts in print, to support my son in his adult life and political work, to find the love of my life.

Looking For

Look for in a partnerI'm looking for someone with similar interests in art and politics, film and theater, good intellectual curiosity and, not least, sympathy for those left out in the competition for habitat and resources, human and other.
On the first dateAnything light and fun.

Sports

Enjoys playingBadminton, Baseball, Basketball, Bowling, Sailing, Snowskiing, Softball, Table Tennis, Tennis, Volleyball
Enjoys watchingBaseball, Basketball, Football (American), Golf, Table Tennis, Tennis, Volleyball
Favorite teamNebraska Cornhuskers football, baseball and basket
Favorite college teamUniversity of Nebraska